Ekin Su Paker

The Turkish soprano Ekin Su Paker joins the Opera Studio in Frankfurt 2020-2021 season, during which she can be heard as Barbarina in Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro, a role she will be singing at the Theater an der Wien and also Pergolesi’s Stabat Mater.She has sung Adina and Giannetta (L’elisir d’amore), Poppea (L’incoronazione di Poppea), Blanche (Dialogues des Carmelites), Celia (La fedelta premiata), Eurydike (Orpheus in der Unterwelt), Anna Reich (The Merry Wives of Windsor), Despina (Cosi fan tutte) at places including the Istanbul Süreyya Opera House, House of Music and Musictheater Graz(MUMUTH),Oper im Berg Festival Salzburg and Leyla Gencer Art Center, John McIntosh Arts Center London.

From an early age Ekin Su Paker was surrounded by music and ballet. At the age of 15, Ekin Su was invited as a young guest singer to join the concert with Izmir State Symphony Orchestra. She studied at Istanbul University’s State Conservatory and finished her Master in Opera from the University for Music and the Performing Arts in Graz.

She won the 2016 Istanbul Baroque Festival Competition and reached the finals of İzmir State Opera’s 2018 National Competition for Young Soloists and the 2018 Siemens Opera Competition in Istanbul. She reached the finals of the Bertelsmann Foundation’s 2019 Neue Stimmen International Singing Competition in Gütersloh.

In 2018, she sang with İstanbul State Opera and Ballet Orchestra in Süreyya Opera House, conducted by Zdravko Lazarov. In 2019 she took part in International 2nd Efes Opera and Ballet Festival with Izmir State Opera and Ballet at Library of Celsus in Ephesus, conducted by Ibrahim Yazıcı.

Ekin Su has worked opera and stage directors and conductors such as; Alfred Dorfer,Katharina Thoma, Olivier Tambosi, Stefan Gottfried, Alfred Dorfer, Caterina Panti Liberovici, Karsten Januschke, Rory Macdonald, Ibrahim Yazıcı, Erol Erdinç, Murat Cem Orhan.

Ekin Su has appeared in masterclasses with renowned artists including Neil Shicoff, Hedwig Fassbender, Brigitte Fassbænder,Eva Mei, Edith Wiens, Eytan Pessen, Alfonso Antoniozzi,Charles Spencer, Barbara Bonney, Giuseppe Sabbatini,David Gowland amongst others.